International Relations

About the Committee



  • Bruce Buttler
  • Juan Pablo Carrera-E
  • O.M. (Kayode) Coker
  • Evan W. Craig
  • Noé de la Sancha
  • Scott L. Gardner
  • Douglas A. Kelt
  • Ariana Klappert
  • Simon Musila
  • Ricardo A. Ojeda
  • Nicté Ordóñez-Garza
  • Rosa Palmer
  • Silvia Pavan
  • Chris Pavey
  • Andrea Previtali
  • Esteban Restrepo Cortez
  • Jorge A. Salazar-Bravo
  • Sergio A. Solari

History and Mission

The Board of Directors established the International Relations Committee in 1960 to maintain and enhance communication between members of the Society and mammalogists outside North America. The mission of this committee is to advance the field of mammalogy by encouraging and facilitating international collaboration among members of the ASM and mammalogists from other countries.


This committee serves as an official contact with the organizing committees of the International Theriological Congresses and updates Society members about this and other international conferences that focus on mammals.

The committee compiles and organizes a list of contacts with other mammal societies throughout the world and makes it available to ASM members with the intent to bolster true international collaboration and facilitate opportunities for conducting studies in other countries.

The committee manages a sponsored membership program for mammalogists in developing countries.  Click on the "Sponsored Membership" tab for details about the program, how to apply, and how to make a donation to support your fellow mammalogists around the world.


Carol and Jim Patton Award

for Outstanding Latin American Graduate Students of Mammalogy

The American Society of Mammalogists (ASM), through its International Relations Committee, seeks to promote growth of mammalogy in Latin America along with encouragement of connections between ASM members and Latin American mammalogists. In that spirit, ASM offers the Carol and Jim Patton Awards to one outstanding graduate student from each of the affiliated mammal societies in Latin America. Each award is funded by a generous gift from Carol and Jim Patton, who value the importance of supporting young mammalogists in Latin America.

It is the responsibility of each participating Latin American mammal society, at the time of the society’s regular meeting, to provide the ASM International Relations Committee with the name and contact information of an outstanding graduate student selected based on criteria established by each society, for example, the best graduate student oral presentation. The Carol and Jim Patton award will consist of three consecutive years of membership in ASM, providing access to numerous benefits, including reduced fees for publishing in Journal of Mammalogy and for attending ASM meetings, access to research and travel grants for student members, and an on-line subscription to Journal of Mammalogy.

At the Sociedad Argentina para el Estudio de los Mamíferos (SAREM) meeting in Argentina, ASM member Jim Kenagy presents the Carol and Jim Patton Award to Jorge Gallo from the Delegación Regional Patagonia, Administración de Parques Nacionales, Argentina (above left).

At the Asociación Paraguaya de Mastozoología (APM) meeting in Paraguay, ASM President-elect Enrique Lessa presents the Carol and Jim Patton Award to Myriam Velazquez from the Fundación Moisés Bertoni, Asunción, Paraguay (above right).



  • 2019—Jorge Gallo - Sociedad Argentina para el Estudio de los Mamíferos (SAREM)
  • 2019—Raissa Prior Migliorini - Sociedade Brasileira de Mastozoologia (SMBz)
  • 2019—Myriam Velazquez - Asociación Paraguaya de Mastozoología (APM)
  • 2018—Diego Peralta - Sociedad Argentina para el Estudio de los Mamíferos (SAREM)
  • 2018—Lorena Zurita - Red Boliviana de Mastozoología (RBM)
  • 2018—Miguel Eduardo Rodríguez Posada - Sociedad Colombiana de Mastozoología (SCMas)
  • 2018—Bárbara Montserrat Camacho Giménez - Asociación Paraguaya de Mastozoología (APM)
  • 2017—Ana Ochoa - Sociedad Argentina para el Estudio de los Mamíferos (SAREM)
  • 2016—Vanesa Serafini - Sociedad Argentina para el Estudio de los Mamíferos (SAREM)
  • 2016—Tatiana Rios- Sociedad Argentina para el Estudio de los Mamíferos (SAREM)
  • 2016—María Alejandra Camacho - Asociación Ecuatoriana de Mastozoología (AEM)

International Travel Awards

  • 2024—Sofía Barbero, early career researcher, Argentina
  • 2024—Stephanye Mata González, graduate student, Mexico