ad hoc Cameron Award Committee

Committee Members: Rudy Boonstra, Guy Cameron (non-voting), Gerardo Ceballos, Denise Dearing, Eileen Lacey, Rebecca Rowe, Rob Swihart (Chair)

Mission:

The Guy N. Cameron Rodent Research award was established in 2019 to fund research on native rodents in the Americas with an emphasis on field research, and laboratory research that supports or augments field research. Support is intentionally broad, generally falling under the umbrella of ecology and behavior to reflect Guy's interests and numerous scholarly contributions. The Cameron Award Committee reviews and ranks applications and selects a deserving recipient in each of two categories: graduate student and postdoctoral applicant.

Information Items:

- (1) In Spring 2020, the committee evaluated 19 graduate student and 6 postdoctoral applications. The high overall quality of applications presented the committee with a pleasant challenge during the selection process. The 2020 recipients of the Cameron Award are:
 - **a.** Carson Keller, a doctoral student in the Department of Integrative Biology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
 - **b.** Andreas Kautt, a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology and Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard University.

Action Items:

- (1) Budget request of \$5,000.00 for the 2020 graduate student recipient of the Cameron Award.
- (2) Budget request of \$5,000.00 for the 2020 postdoctoral recipient of the Cameron Award.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert K. Swihart Chair, Cameron Award Committee rswihart@purdue.edu