Jackson Award Committee

Committee Members: V. Hayssen, M. E. Hopton, A.V. Linzey, D. K. Odell (Chair), and D. A. Schlitter.

Mission:

The Hartley H. T. Jackson Award was established in 1977 by the American Society of Mammalogists to honor individuals with long and outstanding service to mammalogy and to the Society. Service has usually been in the areas of committee membership, governance of the Society, editors of ASM publications, or work on special projects. The Jackson Award Committee solicits and evaluates nominations from the membership and recommends a nominee to the Board of Directors. In the event that no nominations are received, the Committee selects a nominee. The Award is presented formally at the banquet or closing social of the Annual Meeting.

Information Items:

(1) The Committee was saddened by the loss of Barbara Blake. She was the 'corporate memory' of the Committee. Duane Schlitter was appointed to fill the vacancy.

(2) The Committee received two nominations for the 2020 Award.

(3) The Committee approved one of the nominations unanimously and forwarded it to President Kelt for approval by the Board of Directors. Announcement of the recipient of the Jackson Award will be made at a time and place to be determined by the President. The Committee thanks the members who prepared the nominations.

(4) Last year, 2019, the Jackson Award was presented to Dr. Edward J. Heske. Dr. Heske exemplifies long standing service to the ASM. He has held a number of elected positions, including President, editorial positions and service on many different committees. And, as with most recent Jackson awardees, service to the ASM does not stop upon receipt of the award.

(5) The Committee asks members of the Society to consider nominating a member who has given long and outstanding service to the ASM. Information on the nominating process can be found on the Jackson Award Committee page on the ASM website or by contacting the Committee. The Committee has prepared some documents that summarize contributions of various individuals (e.g. committee service) that are available to aid in the preparation of nominations.

Action Items: None.

Respectfully submitted, Daniel K. Odell, Chair (d2tm2@juno.com)