Jackson Award Committee

Committee Members: B. H. Blake, V. Hayssen, M. E. Hopton and A. V. Linzey, D. K. Odell (Chair).

Mission:

The Hartley H. T. Jackson Award was established in 1977 by the American Society of Mammalogists to honor individuals with long and outstanding service to mammalogy and to the Society. Service has usually been in the areas of committee membership, governance of the Society, editors of ASM publications, or work on special projects. The Jackson Award Committee solicits and evaluates nominations from the membership and recommends a nominee to the Board of Directors. In the event that no nominations are received, the Committee selects a nominee. The Award is presented formally at the banquet or closing social of the Annual Meeting.

Information Items:

- (1) The Committee received one nomination for the 2019 Award.
- (2) The Committee approved the nomination unanimously and forwarded it to President Kelt for approval by the Board of Directors. Announcement of the recipient of the Jackson Award will be made at the Awards Ceremony during the Closing Social.
- (3) Last year, 2018, the Jackson Award was presented to Duane A. Schlitter. Dr. Schlitter has served the ASM for over 4 decades in officer and Board positions and on numerous committees, especially the International Relations Committee.
- (4) The Committee asks members of the Society to consider nominating a member who has given long and outstanding service to the ASM. Information on the nominating process can be found on the Jackson Award Committee page on the ASM website or by contacting the Committee.

Action Items:

(1) The Committee requests \$300.00 for the award plaque.

Respectively submitted:

Daniel K. Odell, Chair (d2tm2@juno.com)