Jackson Award Committee

Committee Members: B. H. Blake (Chair), M. E. Hopton, A. V. Linzey, J. F. Merritt, and D. K. Odell.

Mission:

The Hartley H. T. Jackson Award was established in 1977 by the American Society of Mammalogists to honor individuals with long and outstanding service to mammalogy and to the Society. Service has usually been in the areas of committee membership, governance of the Society, editors of ASM publications, or work on special projects. The Jackson Award Committee solicits and evaluates nominations from the membership and recommends a nominee to the Board of Directors. In the event that no nominations are received, the Committee selects a nominee. The Award is presented formally at the banquet or closing social of the Annual Meeting.

Information Items:

- (1) The Committee received 1 nomination for the award.
- (2) The Committee approved the nomination unanimously and forwarded it to President Sikes for approval by the Board of Directors. Announcement of the recipient of the Jackson Award will be made at the Awards Ceremony during the Closing Social.
- (3) Last year, 2017, the Jackson Award was presented to Virginia Hayssen, Mary Maples Dunn Professor in Biological Sciences at Smith College, for her committed years of service in editing Mammalian Species, making it available on the Smith College website, and for 71 committee-years of service to ASM.
- (4) The Committee asks members of the Board to consider nominating a member who has given long and outstanding service to ASM. For information on nominating, see the Society website or contact the Committee Chair.

Action Items:

(1) \$300 is requested for the award plaque.

Respectively submitted:

Barbara H. Blake, Chair (bhblake@uncg.edu)