Honorary Membership Committee

Committee Members: M. A. Mares, E. J. Heske (Chair), E. A. Lacey, R. S. Sikes, and D. A. Kelt.

Mission:

The purpose of the Honorary Membership Committee is to present credentials of potential honorary members for consideration by the membership at the annual Members' Meeting. Honorary Membership, which is the highest honor awarded by the American Society of Mammalogists, recognizes eminent mammalogists who have rendered "distinguished service to the science of mammalogy." The Honorary Membership Committee is composed of the five most recent past presidents and is chaired by the second-most senior member of that group. The committee welcomes nominations from ASM members, and may also propose or solicit nominations for prospective candidates. Nominations may be made to any committee member.

Information Items:

- (1) The Committee decided to replace the medallions formerly awarded to recipients with free-standing, engraved glass trophies. The new trophies were obtained for the five 2021 recipients and the two 2022 recipients. The remaining medallions were few in number and of poor quality, and will be discarded. Thanks to Bob Timm for assisting the committee with this process.
- (2) Short paragraphs describing the merits of the 2022 Honorary Members along with a photo were linked to the list of names on the website.
- (3) The Committee received five nominations for potential new Honorary Members. After careful deliberation, four of the proposed nominees were selected for further consideration by the Board of Directors and members.
- (4) During the Members' Meeting, the Committee will move to elect a candidate or candidates approved by the Board of Directors.

Action Items: Funds are requested to purchase trophies for the 2023 Honorary Members, plus shipping. Trophies: $4 \times 130 = 520$; shipping to ASM: est. \$130; shipping to recipients: est. \$200; Total requested = \$850.

Respectfully submitted,

E. J. Heske (Chair) eheske@unm.edu