Grinnell Award Committee

Committee Members: G. Feldhamer, J. Frey, D. McClearn, B. Pasch, J. Rachlow (chair), K. Stanchak, R. Terry, T. Theimer, R. Timm, and P. Zollner.

Mission:

The purpose of this committee is to solicit nominations for the Joseph Grinnell Award and select a nominee to forward to the ASM Board of Directors for consideration. The Joseph Grinnell Award honors individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to education in mammalogy over a period of at least 10 years.

Information Items:

- (1) With approval of the ASM Board of Directors, the recipient of the 2021 Grinnell Award, Dr. Deedra McClearn, was announced during the 2021 virtual meeting. Dr. McClearn will give a plenary presentation at the annual (in-person!) meeting in Tucson in June 2022.
- (2) In Spring 2022, the committee evaluated nomination materials, selected the nominee for the 2022 Grinnell Award, and forwarded the nomination to President Lessa and the ASM Board of Directors. The recipient will be announced during the closing ceremony of the 2022 annual meeting of the ASM.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$350.00 to produce the Grinnell Award plaque.

Respectfully submitted,

Janet Rachlow, Chair (jrachlow@uidaho.edu)